Take a look back over your life and see if you ever remember being asked the following questions: 

  • Who are you?
  • What do you do?
  • Who sent you?
  • Who do you think you are?

The common words in the above questions are “who” and “you“. 

In the world, we are oftentimes judged by our status and titles in life.  We will face status and title issues when we are born, in our families, in our church, in our schools, on our jobs, and in our civic and social organizations.  When a stranger greets us, that is one of the first questions asked.  Unfortunately, how we answer that question will ultimately define how they see us and treat us.  Thus, we are constantly striving for the top and trying to gain the highest positions because no one wants to be on the bottom.  That is all good, however in doing so we can sometimes lose sight of who we truly are and whose we are, God’s children. 

When faced with those questions, depending on where we are and what we are doing in life is how we respond.  We usually answer first by stating our career field and job title.  Secondly, we would also add titles such as college degrees, parent, business professional, or any church, social, or civic organization positions.  We oftentimes answer the question hoping to sound like a well-educated, professional, and productive citizen in society.  Why else would we expend all our resources trying to attend the best schools in hopes of getting the best jobs, to afford the best quality of life this natural Earth has to offer for our families?  Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with striving to be the best, but one day I was thinking to myself, “How would God and Jesus answer those questions if asked?”  I knew certainly they would not give the same answers as we do. 

After meditating on the Word, I ran across the scriptures in Exodus 3:11-15 when God commanded Mosesto go to Pharoah and tell him to free the jews from bondage.  Puzzled about the task at hand and thinking with his natural mind, Moses asked God what should he say when they ask “Who sent you?” and “What is his name?”  Like us, Moses knew when he delivered that message, Pharoah would definitely want to know who sent him.  To my surprise the Lord simply answered Moses by saying, “I Am Who I Am.”  He told Moses to tell them, “I Am has sent me to you.”  He did not give a long drawn out explanation trying to sound important…He didn’t have to!

Through further reading, it was also revealed to me that Jesus dealt with the same issue when the Jews asked Him to prove who He was because they didn’t believe that He was the true Son of God.  They believed He was either a Samaritan or demon-possessed to state such claims.  In those times, many Jews believed they were the descendants of Abraham and only believed in the God of Abraham, not truly understanding Jesus was not only the Son of God but was also God.  In the scriptures of John 8:48-58, the Jews asked Jesus, “Are you greater than our Father Abraham?” and Jesus simply replied in verse 58, “I tell you the truth…before Abraham was born, I Am!”  The Jews also asked Jesus “Who do you think you are?” and He replied to them in verse 54, “If I glorify myself, my glory means nothing.  My Father, whom you claim as your God, is the one who glorifies me.”

WOW! I thank God for that revelation! I have a newfound freedom after reading those scriptures.  There is no title or status on Earth that could ever compare to those two words, “I AM.”  Any title I could ever gain in life will always be beneath His.  I no longer have to worry about glorifying myself, because my glories will mean nothing in the end besides doing his work.  My Father in Heaven will glorify me when I obey His Word.  The Lord our God will glorify us in the end when he says “Well done, my good and faithful servant!”  Wherever I go to do His will, all I have to say is that He (I AM) sent me.  When someone asks “Who are you?” I can simply say I’m a child of the King.  When someone asks “What do I do?” I can simply reply, I honor my Father and am about His business until eternity. 

I thank God that He doesn’t define us by the world’s standards because He created us in his own image and likeness.   When you truly know God for yourself and have a deep-rooted relationship with Him, you can stand up tall and answer with confidence that you know who you are, what you do, and who sent you no matter where you are in life.  His answers in the Word are the only ones that will remain the same.  Your resume’ and earthly titles will change as the years go by, but our Father’s Word will remain the same from the beginning to the end of time.  We no longer have to worry about being judged by the world’s standards of who we are and who we should be.  We, as Christians, should also not judge anyone based on those principles, because as believers we are all the same in God’s eyes.   We should love one another as He loves us and be accepting of others in all walks of life because that is what He would want us to do.  

God gave us some “I am” answers to those questions in His Word that we should live by such as:

  • I am the head and not the tail (Deuteronomy 28;13)
  • I am more than a conqueror (Romans 8:37)
  • I am God’s Child (John 1:12)
  • I am a friend of Jesus Christ (John 15:15)
  • I have been bought with a price and I belong to God (1 Corinthians 6:19-20)
  • I am complete in Christ (Colossians 2:9-10)
  • I have not been given a spirit of fear but of power, love and a sound mind (2 Timothy 1:7)
  • I am a new creation in Christ; old things have passed away and all things have become new (2 Corinthians 5:17)
  • I am an heir with the Father and a joint heir with Christ (Galatians 4:6.7)
  • I am a citizen of heaven (Ephesians 2:19)
  • I am the righteousness of God in Christ (2 Corinthians 5:21)

When someone asks you again “Who are you?”, feel free to quote any of these scriptures as your Godly validation to them.  Again, no other titles matter. 

Peace and Blessings unto to you,

TO GOD BE THE GLORY!